h1

At this point, I’ve run out of funny titles.

July 11, 2008

I apologize for not updating on The Next Food Network Star progress. Since it’s only two days before the seventh episode, I decided to put this brief summary up

I had to say goodbye to two of my favorite contests the past two weeks.

First, Jen was axed. I felt sorry for her, but it was inevitable. Her confidence issues had struck again and killed her there and then. I really wanted to see a cooking show focused on kids, but she disappointed her daughter badly. Hopefully the tyke won’t bawl her eyes out because mommy won’t be on TV. Sorry, Jen.

My fave Iron Chef, Cat Cora, was the host of that week. The mini-challenge was doing a taste review of someone else’s dish in one minute’s time. Everyone did poorly there. The main challenge was re-inventing a complex dish into a simple dish. The three lucky monsters were Beef Wellington, Coq Au Vin, and Turducken. Kelsey and Shane, who picked Beef Wellington, tore through the challenge and won the spot on Bon Appetit’s recipe list for the August issue.

The previous episode, aired last Sunday, had a lot of stuff going on. The guests did a guest segment on Rachael Ray’s talk show, again, but there was a twist. The contestants worked with Brownies, a branch of Girl Scouts who are for very young girls, and would do their segment alongside the Brownies.

Needless to say, each of the contestants had their problems. Lisa clammed up like a Cloyster when she was with Rachael, Kelsey bossed Rachael around, which was a negative in my book. I’m a big Rachael Ray fan and people who boss her around get cowplanted!

Aaron stupidly turned his back to the camera to wash his hands. I know there was no way to wash your hands there because the sink was positioned wrong, but never turn your face away from the camera, ever. Adam probably won the challenge because I read in Tuschman’s blog that Rachael loved his food and the way he interacted with her and the Brownie.

Sadly, Shane had completely neglected the kid. Worse, he confessed that he has never been to France and only wanted to be a French chef because of a class he took. Kelsey may be the worst off in experience, but Shane was axed because FN doesn’t like people who claim to be ethnic culinaires and have never been to the country their cuisine was born from. I’d never say I’m a Japanese foodie, because I can’t afford to go to Tokyo for even a day!

Shane, do us a favor – either forget about French Cuisine and do some American culinary point of view, or save up your nickels and dimes and take a three-day-two-night vacation to gay Parie! Sadly, you aren’t even going to get to Las Vegas like the remaining four contestants.

This Sunday, Bobby Flay is going to challenge Lisa, Kelsey, Aaron, and Adam to a throwdown in Sin City. I only hope that the four keep up to good work. I’m rooting for the girls, but if they get eliminated, I might pick Aaron for the vote. Yeah, he’s black and bald, but better him than bad chef Adam – unless Adam can get his A+ game on fast.

Still, I have high hopes Kelsey might be in the final vote. She just needs to stop worrying about being inexperienced and prove that young people can make great cooking show hosts too! Lisa, I’m sorry not to support you, but you need to stop being all frou-frou and connect to the viewers, who don’t care crackers about fine dining. You need to show them that fine dining isn’t expensive or difficult.

Everyone is on thin ice now, so please please please, don’t disappoint me. 😦

Leave a comment