h1

The Next Food Network Star: Fourth Episode which I didn’t get the title of, oops.

June 24, 2008

Warning: T rated for mild profanity.

My dad doesn’t like to put up with crap.

Being an Professor that teaches Business Accounting, he should be getting respect. But he tells me stories of students who come to him and complain that they got bad grades and beg for good grades to get their degrees when they clearly didn’t study. My dad is a firm believer of hard work, and he’s sort of upset at the way I flittered my life away on video games and hate clerical work. When we were young, me and Dad argued a lot about my future. That’s how much he hates people who can’t walk the walk.

If he were on the selection committee of The Next Food Network Star this season and had witnessed Nipa’s outburst, he would have immediately gotten up and told Nipa Bhatt to leave and never return, and if he had been the guest judge on this episode, he would have done the same thing and added “I do not want you to expect to ever get famous off of cooking.”

Yeah, that’s the same way I feel after Nipa’s behavior this episode. I’m almost tempted to have a Sim looking like my father argue with and fight a Nipa-Sim, who would go sob into her hands.

First, let me describe this week’s challenges:

(1) For the mini-challenge, Tyler Florence asked each contestant to do a sixty-second instructional video on a food technique. Kelsey won this one and her video is showcased on the Food Network site. Jen lost it after being told not to apologize AGAIN.

(2) Kelsey also won the main challenge; Michael Symon(who I have finally come to grips with for winning the Next Iron Chef competition – I don’t think they’ll do that again, though) had each contestant plan two fish dishes. One would use a sweet ingredient. Then the dishes were to be served to 30 members of the Atlantic Coast Guard with a short presentation.

Now for my gripes:

(1) Jen, you need to withdraw from this challenge and go see a counselor immediately. I know I should be talking, having been forced to visit many many shrinks for my autism problem, but anyone who was teased as a child and still can’t get over confidence issues in adulthood expect in private needs therapy. Jen, I really would like to see your kid’s cooking show, but not if it means you have to apologize for things you can’t control. GET HELP.

(2) Nipa, I had a few issues about you, but I want to say I’m sorry about those issues – you tried really hard, but I knew you’d get eliminated because anyone who walks out two episodes should not be let back in. Also, if you can’t touch dead fish, how the hell were you able to make anything other than curried crap for Indian cuisine? I really wish you could have expressed your love of Indian foodfare, but not if you can’t handle dead fish, because India is 50% coastline and clearly has a great fishing trade. Did your parents never feed you fish, girl?

Ah, c’est la vie. I hope you can get over your fish-phobia before you die of old age.

(3) Lisa, I can’t believe you wore gucci shoes and a dress to an adventure where you clearly were handling food. My mom and my sisters would never ever wear high-heeled shoes while prepping food, as that is a sign of clear disaster. I admit I too had spilled my share of foods and gotten my shirt dirty, but any idiot who wears good clothes to food prep deserves to ruin them.

Other than that, your mess may have saved you for another week, as the judges were impressed by the non-divine goddess Lisa. If you can just keep that silly Lisa, you might get into the finalist vote! I’m rooting for you as a fellow Texan. 🙂

(4) Aaron, I’m sorry, man. I know how it feels to lose someone close to you when they run away from home and don’t come back. I had a gray kitten, Ash, who I let out to prowl and he didn’t return after a week. Thinking about it… it really hurts. It does. I’m scared to get another cat because I’m afraid I might lose it too. Having someone close run away from home is horrible, thinking about the fate they might suffer.

I’m 100% behind you, man. Even if you don’t win this, you shouldn’t be sad. Keep your chin up, and maybe Josh will see you on TV and regret his actions… if he’s still alive. *sob*

(5) Adam, I regret to say that there is no way you’re going to do well here. I’m betting you’re up next on the chopping block. Tripping and falling went out with the clown age, and that video you did was just horrible. If you can’t prep an artichoke, you need to learn.

I want to see an Alton Brown prodigy, not Bozo the Clown’s Crazy Cooking.

(6) Shane and Kelsey, you are doing better. Keep it up and you might be the two who get into the finalist vote. I’m backing you two!

Enough said. Le’ts just hope next week is a little better for all enough… oh, and no more Hollywood dancing, please. 😦

Leave a comment